3. The U.S. Federal Government

The United States Government is composed of three sections. It is based on the Constitution of United States of America that was put into in May, 1789. The three parts of the .S. Government are the executive, legislative and judicial branches. branch works independently of the other two, and has its own responsibilities. This system is in to ensure that no branch can carry more than the other. This is called the separation powers, which was written into the constitution.

The branch is the branch that most Americans are with. It includes the president of the United , the vice-president, and the cabinet. The president is leader of the country and is the commander-in-chief the U.S. military. The vice-president is second-in-command and act as president if the president dies, resigns, is removed from office. The cabinet acts as of the U.S. President, and carry out the they are entrusted with.

The legislative branch of consists of the House of Representatives, and the . Together they form the congress, which can levy collect taxes, mint money, and establish federal courts. can also declare war, and raise and support army, navy, and air force to protect the . The House of Representatives has 435 members, and Senate consists of 100 senators, with two from of the states. Any legislation, or new law, be approved by both the House of Representatives the Senate.

The judicial branch is entrusted to the laws created by the legislative branch of . It has the power to create lower courts the Supreme Court of the United States. It closely with state courts, although they are separate.